The Three Gulf states – Saudi Arabia, Kuwait, and Oman have closed their land, sea, and air borders and suspended all commercial flights maintaining the operation of cargo flights only. The decision has been taken by the government with the ongoing fear of a new strain of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Starting on 20th Dec, Sunday, Saudi Arabia had closed it’s land and sea borders with immediate effects and suspended all international commercial flights for a renewable week. The flights already inside the border had still been operated. The other two GCC countries Kuwait and Oman closed their border beings 00:01 hours on 22nd December.

The decision of closing the border has come up after the new variant of the pandemic SARS Cov-2 coronavirus spread rapidly in Great Britain. That prompt a high level of concern among the GCC and European countries. Many other countries have cut down their transportation link with the UK temporarily.

With the governmental decisions, Saudi Airlines, Oman Airways, Salam Air, Kuwait airlines, and Jazeera airlines have already released their press release on the suspension of flights.